Tuesday, 17 April 2012

Starkid Rogues are We

THIS IS NOT A SPOILER FREE BLOG. 


I realise that what I'm about to write only applies to certain people and only one person that actually reads this blog. But I truly love her and I love this musical, so behold my review of 'Holy Musical B@man' - please note, there will be a great deal of fangirling below. 


Can we just? UGH.






Right, I'm going to do this methodically. Shall we start with the cast? 


Nico Ager - I know he's a newbie, and it takes time for them to grow on a person but really Nico left me unimpressed and hardly bothered about him at all. I'm sure he's great but he just didn't do anything for me. Maybe Twitter will tell.


Julia Albain - I can never get over Julia because I always remember that she was a last minute addition to AVPM and how LUCKY must she be right now?! She gets better and better every time I see her - she was perfect as Vicki Vale. 


Chris Allen - SO GOOD to see you back Chris!! He did a fantastic job, his accents were brilliant and his comic timing as Two-Face was hilarious. We've missed you Duder. 




Jaime Lyn Beatty - what can't you say about Jaime? She is fabulous at everything she does. I mean look at that cuteness? She can do the sultry with Ivy and the sweet with Candy. And the 'f**king Candy' line gets me EVERY time. Her voice is also insane. Someone just give me that power and range and everything. Have I said too much?


Jeff Blim - Oh gosh. The big one. Like Nico, Jeff is a newbie. But unlike Nico, I have fallen head over heels for this one. He is just on another level. Hilarious, gorgeous, beautiful voice: Jeff has everything you want in a Starkid male. I mean don't we all want a bit of this?


Denise Donovan - I'll admit, as February I never really liked Denise that much, but she totally grew on me in HMB. She was a brilliant Catwoman and now that she doesn't have flu, we can actually hear her voice. 


Brian Holden - I mean seriously now. Hello? Brian gets better and better. He does the underdog character so well. And in spandex too! And who says 'Lupin can't sing' - I'll tell you after 'The American Way' you'll know that he most definitely can. And then there's this: 



YOU KNOW IT.




Nick Lang - Good gawwd Nick Lang. Once upon a time Nick Lang said in an interview that he's not very funny and he can't really sing. WRONG. Nick Lang is hilarious and he has a great voice. 'Yes I would like that very much' has me wetting myself every single time I watch him. 'The Dynamic Duet' is just mindblowing and Nick, your pasty white legs are beautiful. 


Lauren Lopez - I think it's fair to say that Lauren took a bit of a backseat in HMB. She's always been pretty upfront as Malfoy and Taz but she was in a less prominent role this time. Nevertheless she was still brilliant and still hilarious and still managed to use anything but her actual voice. Speaking of her voice, I always manage to hear her singing along over everyone else, which is nice. I think anyway. 


Nicholas Strauss - This is the first time I think that I've enjoyed Nick Strauss in a Starkid show. I didn't really like him in AVPS or MAMD. Maybe it's because he looks better without the beard. Maybe it's because he was really funny in this one? I don't know, but as the Police Chief he had me in stitches - particularly the 'Water Shots' episode - and as the Penguin he was overall brilliant. Bravo Nick, I like you now. 


Jim Povolo - always so understated Jim and always brilliant. As in every show, with the little things he had to say and do, Jim was fab. One small note though - I don't like the Mohawk. Grow your hair Jim!!


Meredith Stepien - Meredith, Meredith, Meredith. Hilarious as always in every single tiny part she played. I'm pretty sure she had the most costume changes and the smallest parts, but always she brings it to the table and in every dance number she's always smiling. She makes me feel happy that she's performing, especially that line in 'The American Way' - you know what I mean. 


Dylan Saunders - The best way to start a Starkid show is with Dylan's amazing voice. What an outstanding opening. Dylan gets better and better in every single show and just adds so much every time. We love you Dylan :) 


Joe Walker - Save the best til last huh? Perfect choice to play Batman. Joe Walker has this amazing ability to do 'overthetop' acting which is at the same time so understated. His Batman really gets to you and touches you emotionally in the same way his Voldemort did but this time we got to see him in the central role and owning it in every way. And this will never not be cute: 






Moving on... all the set and scenery and props and costumes were fantastic. I can't thank June Saito enough for putting the boys in tights. Corey Lubowich does another great job with the set and the choreography by Katie Spelman in this one was the best I've ever seen in a Starkid show. It was tight, it was clever and it made me want to be dancing with them.


Though maybe that was in part due to the songs? 


It's very evident that these songs are NOT written by Darren Criss because they are so very different to his style. Before anyone says anything otherwise, I like both styles. I still adore Darren's writing and 'Not Alone' and 'Status Quo' will continue to be my perfect songs. However, in HMB, Nick Gage's music is also fantastic. 


The songs are funny and clever and you want to sing them all day, every day. Believe me, I have. They're intelligent songs that make the cast work to sing them. The tight harmonies in 'Dark Sad Lonely Knight' are so brilliant that you can't help but sit in wonder at what you're seeing before you. 'Rogues are We' - both the original and reprise - remains my favourite, I think, but it's closely followed by 'The Dynamic Duet' and 'Super Friends'. 


The songs are great, the acting is outstanding, the script is hilarious - major thanks to Nick and Matt Lang - and it all comes together to make one fabulous musical that I cannot stop watching. 


Thank you Team Starkid for another wonderful musical.


No thanks to you for putting it up now and making sure I fail my A2s. It's your fault when I don't get into uni. But then again, I'll always have this: 









I REGRET NOTHING. 











No comments:

Post a Comment