We all saw it. That performance. Miley's 2013 VMA performance will go down in infamy, like the Madonna/Britney Kiss or Kanye vs. Taylor. What is it about the VMAs that spark this lust for notoriety that seems to explode from celebrities - namely teen celebrities.
Because that's what the huge controversy is about. Miley Cyrus is a girl who we all first knew as Hannah Montana. She performed as a country sweetheart who captured the heart of millions with her platinum blonde wig. (Maybe she's trying to recapture that with her ice blonde Draco Malfoy-esq hairdo? Maybe not.) But then, she outgrew Hannah and wanted to be Miley. Which is absolutely fine.
And it got me to thinking about all the other teen idols we've looked up to who've been led astray. The most obvious example and the best for me is Britney. Britney is my Miley.
She was a star, America's Sweetheart and she crumbled. But the fact is, even in her worst times she was never quite as exhausting and horrifying as Miley. In my contemplation and comparison of the two I looked back on both Britney and Miley's pasts - good and bad.
I remembered my favourite performances: It's 2001 and Britney is dancing with a snake. In 2009 Miley is rocking some cowboy boots and singing about Partying in the USA.
And I remembered the worst. If this VMA performance for Miley is her worst, we surely know which one was Britney's. 2007. That's all I need to say.
But as I rewatched that video I realised, even in her most cringy and embarrassing performance, Britney was still better than Miley. Britney attempted to keep up with dance moves that were sexy without being tacky. And Miles, nothing is tackier than fake penises and grinding up on a married man who probably didn't ask for a twenty year old's bottom on his crotch. Britney's outfit, though not one of her best, was typical to Britney's signature style. No-one quite does the crop top like Ms. Spears. Miley wore rubber. RUBBER. And she couldn't even keep her bottom in the knickers. Britt was overweight at the time and still managed it.
So I'm not a Miley hater. I'm a Miley commentator. That performance was embarrassing to watch and if she turns up with a shaved head soon, I won't be surprised. I only hope that she takes the lead from our beloved Britney and comes back with a bang. Britney does things with grace and class these days and she will always be the Princess of Pop with her beautifully choreographed dances and her fierce wardrobe. Whereas Miley looks like she's trying too hard.
See, here's the thing. She wants to reinvent herself. I get that. She wants to make sure Hannah Montana is left in Montana (wherever that may be.) I understand. I had a middle parting age 12 that I'm desperately trying to forget. This, I imagine, is similar for Miley.
But nothing in her performance makes sense. Why bears? Why the foam finger? WHY THE RUBBER CLOTHES THAT DON'T FIT? But it's 'art' they may say. Why not, they may ask. This doesn't make her cutting edge. It just makes her bizarre.
Someone on Buzzfeed epitomised it for me. The look/feel/act she was going for: Stripper Chic.
Hell, every female pop-star in the world does Stripper Chic. Hello?! Christina Aguilera, Dirty: Stripper Chic. Rihanna, S&M: Stripper Chic. Britney Spears, Slave 4 U: STRIPPER CHIC.
And Miley, all you did at the VMAs was stick your tongue out and rub a foam finger on your crotch. That's not attractive, nor is it sending the message that girls can be sexy and still have some element of sophistication.
Well, you achieved your goal. You stole the show and you put Hannah Montana in the past. Well done. But you also ruined yourself in the process. You're not a Pop Princess anymore. You're just a girl who's not yet a woman and in the development process, you're trying too hard. I'm sorry Miley, but you went too far.
It makes me kind of miss the days of TCAs when she danced on a pole. Or that lesbian kiss on BGT.
All you want to do is grow up Miley - but to do that, you need to have some maturity. So please, take out the little bunches that make you look like an animal off Arthur, put your tongue away, get off Robin Thicke (he is mine, back away) and go and find your cowboy boots.
We loved you then and we're sad for you now.
Monday, 26 August 2013
Monday, 12 August 2013
Don't Stop Believing: A Comment on Cory Monteith
I've been silent for the last month since Cory Monteith's death - which might be surprising to some, considering my relationship with Glee and more significantly its star, Lea Michele. People who know me well, know that I am a huge fan of both the show and her and subsequently, Cory Monteith comes into that support.
It's been a month since we found out about Cory's death and last night at the Teen Choice Awards, Lea made her first public appearance with a beautiful speech thanking her fans and remembering Cory. She won Choice Comedy Actress in a TV Series with the cast of Glee winning 4 awards altogether (Choice Comedy Show, Choice Comedy Actress, Choice Breakout Star - Blake Jenner - and Choice Scene Stealer - Chord Overstreet.) Together with Lea, original Glee club members Kevin McHale (Artie), Amber Riley (Mercedes) and Jenna Ushkowitz (Tina) made grateful and honourable speeches.
It's been a month since we found out about Cory's death and last night at the Teen Choice Awards, Lea made her first public appearance with a beautiful speech thanking her fans and remembering Cory. She won Choice Comedy Actress in a TV Series with the cast of Glee winning 4 awards altogether (Choice Comedy Show, Choice Comedy Actress, Choice Breakout Star - Blake Jenner - and Choice Scene Stealer - Chord Overstreet.) Together with Lea, original Glee club members Kevin McHale (Artie), Amber Riley (Mercedes) and Jenna Ushkowitz (Tina) made grateful and honourable speeches.
Now I personally thought this speech by Lea was outstanding. There are those out there who disagree and still continue to be rude and disgraceful regarding the death of Cory Monteith. I would like to make a few comments in response and in celebration of this wonderful man and his wonderful girlfriend.
Firstly - yes, the circumstances in which Cory died are not at all pleasant. But those who say he had an 'amazing life and threw it away' evidently don't understand Cory Monteith at all. Cory began using drugs when he was 12 years old. He was expelled from many schools and was a Walmart greeter before he turned to acting. He understood the troubles and plight of those less fortunate than him, because he was one of those people. Acting saved him. He took his passion for acting and channelled it into becoming a better person and using his impact as a celebrity to support charities such as Glaad, Project Limelight and Virgin Unite.
Unfortunately, an addiction is still an addiction and some say that he had friends and family who could have helped him. This much is true and they did. They staged an intervention with Ryan Murphy saying after his death that the people who 'loved him were actively involved in trying to get him better' (The Hollywood Reporter, 20/7/13.) But sadly Cory's illness was a disease which overcame him too soon. How people can be so cruel regarding his death is beyond me. A death is still a death - a mother has lost a son, a girlfriend has lost her love and we - his fans - have lost a light.
I agree that his death should not be celebrated but his life certainly should, for all the good he has done and and the pure joy and pleasure he brought to so many lives through his work on Glee. So thank you Cory for 'Jessie's Girl' and 'More than a Woman' and 'Don't Stop Believing' and Finn Hudson.
Now turning to Lea Michele.
I believe that her response to the tragedy has been admirable. She stayed inside for two weeks to have her own private grieving. Then she slowly appeared out with friends, supporting them in important circumstances (Jamie Lynn-Siegler's baby shower, for example) and last night she made her first public appearance at the TCAs. She appeared with grace and class and gratitude for her fans and for her Cory.
I cannot comprehend how some people continue to say she is 'milking' his death or that - disgracefully - the tears in the above speech are 'crocodile tears'. Anyone who has seen Glee knows that Lea can 'cry on demand' and has fully seen her forced tears in action. This speech? This was real, from her heart and her soul. The breathlessness, the attempts to smile, the broken voice - this was a speech of a broken woman, standing strong for her fans.
Both her speech and the speeches of Amber, Kevin and Jenna were supportive of the fans, thankful for the fans and touching to the heart. They were not excessive, they were not over the top and they were not drawing attention to themselves in any way. This death is not about Lea Michele. It's about Cory Monteith, the attention on her is simply a by-product and it is shameful that some cannot see this.
Yes, she is going back to work and being seen in public. People grieve differently. Perhaps for Lea, going back to work - to her routine and to her friends - is the best thing for her. She can't stay inside forever. Maybe she needs to be around people feeling the same things as she. We should be thankful that she is a) looking out for the fans of Glee by continuing the show, b) looking out for the workers on Glee by keeping their jobs and c) not turning to something which could ultimately cause her own death.
I applaud Lea Michele in this time and her castmates for their honour of Cory, their respect for him and their gratitude for fans like me who have stood by them since the day they first appeared in red T-shirts singing Journey.
Cory's death was a tragedy. But the real tragedy is the ignorance of the public who cannot see a woman grieving, a family grieving, a multitude of fans grieving behind the photos, videos and newspaper articles.
We will miss you Cory and we will never stop believing in the power of Glee and the power of music.
Jenna Ushkowitz, Amber Riley, Kevin McHale and Lea Michele hug after Michele's acceptance speech at the 2013 Teen Choice Awards.
A Glee group hug is necessary right about now...
RIP Cory Monteith (1982-2013)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


